In the setup, I showed how all of the rules could be reduced to two diagrams. The diagrams depended on whether the order from the fourth rule was P–S–T or T–S–P.
This question tells us that the percussionist is before the saxophonist, so the order is P–S–T. This diagram is the one that applies:
You can use the diagram to eliminate answers one by one. You’re looking for something that must be true in the diagram, so your goal should be to prove that the wrong answers could be false.
A doesn’t have to be true. The violinist could be before the percussionist. Since neither the violinist nor the percussionist have anyone before them on the diagram, either could go first.
B doesn’t have to be true. The percussionist could be before everyone if we place the violinist after the percussionist.
C doesn’t have to be true. The diagram only places the violinist before the keyboard player. There’s no direct link between these and the saxophonist.
D is CORRECT. You can see this by following the lines on the diagram. P is before G.
E doesn’t have to be true. There are no lines linking the keyboard player and the saxophone player, so either of them could go before the other.
Want a free Logic Games lesson?
Get a free sample of the Logic Games Mastery Seminar. Learn tips for going faster at logic games