In the setup, we saw that G and P are exclusive. So, if G is in center 3, then P must be in center 1:
This is because of the following:
- P and G can’t go together
- Everything in center 2 also goes in center 1; therefore those materials go twice. Since P can only go once, this means it can’t go in center 2.
P is in a 3rd slot in center 1, while center 2 only has two slots. This is because everything in center 2 goes in center 1 as well. So only two things can be shared, since center 1 also needs P.
This question is asking about center 2. What else is left to go in center 2? Only T, W and N. How can they be combined? Either TN, or WN. Why? Because rule 1 says W needs N, so we can’t have WT.
So in either case, N is in groups 1 and 2:
B is CORRECT. Center 2 must recycle newsprint.
The diagram above is actually exactly scenario 1 from the setup. So, if you had found those scenarios in advance, you could solve this question more or less instantly.
Want a free Logic Games lesson?
Get a free sample of the Logic Games Mastery Seminar. Learn tips for going faster at logic games