This is a local rule question. The first step is to check which scenario we are in. The first scenario is the only one that allows us to put W before R. And we have to put W in slot 1, because S also has to go after W.
You have two ways to place R and S. R can be second and S third, or vice versa.
There are also two ways to place T and V. T in 5 and V in 7, or vice-versa.
2 possibilities times 2 possibilities equals 4 possibilities. A is CORRECT.
The math works, but if you don’t believe me, try drawing out the possibilities. It will save you from making a mistake:
Such a drawing doesn’t take long. It’s the best way to solve this if your math teacher never taught you how to calculate permutations.
Need help with LG? → Try the LG Mastery Seminar
Solve hard games quickly