This question places K second. When a question gives you a new rule, you should consider two things:
- How does the new rule interact with the existing rules?
- What is the most restricted point?
Normally, point 1 is all you have to do. But, placing K second triggers no obvious rules. (We know that L can go with K, but that’s not a must be true)
So, let’s consider the most restricted point. That’s area 1. Only J, K and L can go there. This question just leaves J and L who can go first. And, actually L can only go in 1 if K is also there (rule 3). So, this means we must have J alone in group 1:
Since J and K are in different groups, this also means O can’t be 2nd (rule 4). So, we must place O third.
Only L and P are left to place. We can put them in either group (though with a max of three variables in group 3, of course).
E is CORRECT. P can be in group 3.
Want a free Logic Games lesson?
Get a free sample of the Logic Games Mastery Seminar. Learn tips for going faster at logic games